Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:01 AM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default Bot armor glitch

I am wondering if anyone else is having this issue... and if there is something anyone knows as a fix.

The issue:

Equipping bots with a full set of gear puts them in a state of GOD-mode. They become almost impossible to hit (by mobs).

While using the command #bot giveitem, to give the bots armor, the stats bug out. Give them one piece, and it says something like 2k AC, give them another piece and it says -20k AC (not just with AC either).

I have tested to see if item stats are bugging it, by giving them one piece of gear with uber stats - but that's simply not it. It seems that this melee-only avoidance only happens after I give the bots half a set of gear or more. A full set prevents them from getting hit at all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 02:22 PM
Brewhaus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Default

I noticed the stats that are displayed wig out. Even the base stats it says the bot has change every time you give them something. I firgured it was just a display issue because I gave my bot something onetime and it said he had 304000 AC or something like that and so I sent him at a mob and the mob was still hitting him so I figured it just wasn't accurate. The bots do seem a bit overpowered though. I don't know why their base stats start off higher then you are allowed to actually start off a real character.

I haven't noticed this GOD mode yet but will report back if I see it. I tested a naked (except for 2 weapons) warrior bot at level 50 with an identically equipped level 50 war and the bot won with 50% of his hps left. Against a level 55 character it was about even.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2010, 02:30 PM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default

We have a level 90 cap on our server. With the combination of that and mid-end (we haven't even started end-game gear yet), the bots have insane amounts of AC. Since the bots are on some of the same code as NPC's, this makes them avoid almost all incoming attacks; giving them GOD-Mode.

To get the information the server sees of them, you can type #showstats.

With a warrior, giving them a piece of gear with 400AC equals 800AC - that's only the first piece... From there, it gets added up over and over, with the same calculations; meaning that after a few pieces of 400, it quickly becomes over 30k armor... (that's not even a full set). So I am sure you should start to see the problem here, lol.

It's like the AC is getting double-added, every time the bot gets a new piece of gear.

-Hopefully we can get this worked out soon.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:41 PM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default

Alright, now I have the AC issue fixed - but the bots are still in a god-mode state... I don't even know what to do from here (lol)...

Any ideas?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:04 PM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default

Update: After fixing the AC problem and still having the avoidance issue, I narrowed it down to the bot's not capping avoidance (from armor) properly (or if they even do?). So I believe there needs to be a check on avoidance cap plugged in.

I hope this helps if anyone else has/had the same issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2010, 04:14 PM
Brewhaus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Default

May I ask how you fixed the AC issue? Do you mean you found a way to change it in the DB or you changed it in the code and recompiled?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:52 PM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewhaus View Post
May I ask how you fixed the AC issue? Do you mean you found a way to change it in the DB or you changed it in the code and recompiled?
I changed some variables, deleted some, and added new code to the source.

Digging around through the bot code lead me to more than one issue that I resolved. The first issue was the incorrect AC values, the cause of this is that the bot code loads in data with the NPC code; creating a "double post" of information so to speak. After a few times creating incorrectly valued AC, it glitches and starts spitting out insane data.

The way I fixed this was to disable the bot.cpp code from adding any extra values. The code is not completely fixed, but it's a lot more accurate than the glitch previously used. Now, a 400AC piece of armor adds 800AC, each time I give another similar piece to the bot. (It sounds off still, but this method puts the bot almost equal in AC value as a normal player of the same class).

The second issue that was resolved is the mitigation of the bots. This was the main issue all along, but I thought that it was the AC because of the incorrectly displayed results. It could have been a combination, as well.

To correct this, you can adjust these lines of code:

(Located in bot.cpp)
Code:
damage -= (minhit * defender->GetItemBonuses().MeleeMitigation / 100);
damage -= (damage * defender->GetSpellBonuses().MeleeMitigation / 100);
These values may work fine, until you start to get up in the 8.5k+ AC range. Then it seems to put the bots into a GOD-mode state, where they can not be attacked. If you change the /100 to a higher number, such as /200, it will allow the bots to be hit more. (I'm not giving out my exact numbers, lol)

I hope this helps you!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:23 AM
Brewhaus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks! I'm going to have to checkout the code and start messing with it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:52 PM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default

No problem, let me know if there is anything else I may be able to answer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2010, 06:50 PM
pfyon's Avatar
pfyon
Discordant
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 495
Default

Just noticed this issue myself. A lvl 20 warrior with 5.5k ac. I'm going to try to find time to delve into the code and find/fix the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-12-2010, 08:47 PM
lich2594
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfyon View Post
I'm going to try to find time to delve into the code and find/fix the issue.
Did you read my posts further down the forum topic, or just read the first one? J/w
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3