Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2011, 06:34 AM
permaxx
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Having trouble with bot creation on my server

Hello all,
I am having some bot creation trouble. When i try to create a bot it tells me the name is already being used. This happens for any name that I try, so I can't spawn even one bot. If someone has any ideas on how to go about fixing this problem, it would be greatly appreciated.

thx~
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2011, 04:48 PM
mamba700
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I had the same problem. It seems related to this view that needs to be created. I get a syntax error when trying to run this as a query in MYSQL 5.045

it stops on "union all"

errormessage is "1271 - Illegal mix of collations for operation 'UNION'

if I only create the view to read from character_ without the union it seems to work, however I will likely have problems as it seems this view helps prevent duplicate names for bots as it compares character names as well as bot names for duplicates.

Sure enough I can create the bots now but it allows duplicate bot names which really messes things up.

If anyone can fix the syntax in the view create below it would be much apprecieated.


Code:
DROP VIEW IF EXISTS `vwBotCharacterMobs`;
CREATE VIEW `vwBotCharacterMobs` AS
  select 'C' as mobtype,
c.id,
c.name,
c.class,
c.level,
c.timelaston,
c.zoneid
from character_ as c
union all
select 'B' as mobtype,
b.BotID as id,
b.Name as name,
b.Class as class,
b.BotLevel as level,
0 as timelaston,
0 as zoneid
from bots as b;
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2011, 12:39 PM
mamba700
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default Fix View

OK I have it fixed now and runs fine.

Here is what needs to be done. The operation of UNION ALL requires that the fields are the same character set.

So check bots and character_ tables. Look in each field for the character set. Change the set to match the other table.

So Specifically i looked at 'Name' in table character_ and it shows character set = latin1 collation = latin1_swedish_ci

So I then go to the same field in table bots and change it to match. Once this was done the view was created with no errors.

I hope this helps other folks with the same problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3