Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Tools

Development::Tools 3rd Party Tools for EQEMu (DB management tools, front ends, etc...)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:48 PM
inkubus
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 146
Default PHP Simple Item Editor

Hi all,

http://www.ageofkunark.com/itemeditor.zip



I thought I'd post this as I made it for use on my server and find it's a great help for fast production of items. It's dirty (oh so dirty) so don't get mad if it doesn't do what you want!

Couple of things to note before you start using it:
* I use autonumber on my items table - you will need to do the same to use this tool (make sure you don't go over your server item limit!
* For the sake of all that is good make sure you password protect your eqie folder using something like .htaccess. I didn't waste time building a login system.

Enjoy, I hope it's more understandable for you php coders out there (but like I say it's slightly messy)

Have fun

Bolly

Last edited by inkubus; 08-06-2007 at 10:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:30 AM
TheLieka
Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: THE ATL (wut wut)
Posts: 325
Default

Nice tool. Thanks for the hard work.
__________________
Daxum



Former ServerOp - Vallon Zek / Tallon Zek Emu Server - Legit / Guild PvP - (2007 - 2011 RIP)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2007, 11:18 PM
sdabbs65
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 818
Default Item Editor..

Good job.
been waiting a few months for something like this.
I been getting a lot of request for custom items and this does the trick.
you made quite a few people happy.
__________________
hosting Eqemu/Runuo/wow Emulators.

www.cheaterz.info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:39 PM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

Yes, very nice! Thank you!
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2007, 08:02 PM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

This is great!

One thing I may report? You need to escape out single quotes, as some items have a ' in their name.

The way the editor is now, it breaks if you try to edit any item (or lore) with an apostrophe.
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2007, 12:34 PM
sdabbs65
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 818
Default Item Editor..

Quote:
Originally Posted by gernblan View Post
This is great!

One thing I may report? You need to escape out single quotes, as some items have a ' in their name.

The way the editor is now, it breaks if you try to edit any item (or lore) with an apostrophe.

Treid it last night...seems it inserts above max_id and crashes the server
so you wantto watch what you duplacate for now.
__________________
hosting Eqemu/Runuo/wow Emulators.

www.cheaterz.info
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2007, 11:41 AM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

I'm referring to the fact that anything with an apostrophe needs an "escape" a \ before the ' to be read correctly.

The code is stripping them out (no logic to handle the escapes), which is cutting off anything in a name past the '

It's a show stopping bug because it can corrupt item names with an apostrophe in them.
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2007, 12:00 PM
sdabbs65
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 818
Default ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by gernblan View Post
I'm referring to the fact that anything with an apostrophe needs an "escape" a \ before the ' to be read correctly.

The code is stripping them out (no logic to handle the escapes), which is cutting off anything in a name past the '

It's a show stopping bug because it can corrupt item names with an apostrophe in them.
Thats also a bug but it also inserts the new item above max_item_id 's limit.
__________________
hosting Eqemu/Runuo/wow Emulators.

www.cheaterz.info
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2007, 12:26 PM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

See:

http://www.tizag.com/phpT/strings.php
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-18-2007, 12:26 PM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdabbs65 View Post
Thats also a bug but it also inserts the new item above max_item_id 's limit.
Ok, but since you quoted me I thought you were commenting on what I said specifically.
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-20-2007, 12:10 PM
Theeper
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 290
Default

This can be confusing sometimes if magic_quotes_gpc are enabled in PHP. This setting automagically escapes single and double quotes on POSTed data, but doesn't actually insert the escape characters into the DB. So, the data will post properly, but will need escaped when echoing into the form HTML.

On the other hand, if magic_quotes_gpc is off on your system, the single quotes might be breaking your insert query string, so the data isn't making it to the DB properly.

Either way, using double quotes to delimit your string values in the HTML form is an easy way to deal with single quotes. This is, of course if you don't plan on ever having strings that have double quotes in them. If you do, you could always do some str_replace()'s with ascii values for quotes.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:55 AM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

So yeah, until that is addressed and fixed I cannot recommend this excellent script to anyone.

...and that sucks.

I'd fix it, honest I would, if I only had time. I'm so buried in the upkeep of my own server and the other projects I've already taken on. :(
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-29-2007, 10:29 PM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

Does your server happen to be down.. I've been getting ping timeouts for the past 2 hours =S
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-30-2007, 11:05 AM
Ueguvil
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Anyone mind hosting this?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:42 AM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

Here:

http://stash.buttwrenching.com/itemeditor.zip

...but like I said in its current form it can corrupt the db, due to improper string handling so I don't recommend you actually use it as it is now.

IF someone fixes it, e-mail the fix to gernblanATgmailDOTcom and I will host that version for everyone instead.
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast

Last edited by gernblan; 10-02-2007 at 04:44 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3